A funny little thought about accents

Ok so this is another post about accents. Because I had a funny thought recently…

and here’s my thought… Did people in the past have the accents of their area?

Like did Isambard Kingdom Brunel have a Bristolian accent? Did he say ‘Alright my lover’, ‘Where’s that to?’ and ‘Gurt lush’. Did he talk like a farmer?

The thing is I don’t think we’ll ever know. But it does amuse me to imagine him prancing about Bristol, his top hat on and designing bridges that are ‘gurt lush’.

leave a comment

